Custom Search

Eating Healthy Pyramid – What You
Need to Eat
to be Healthy

Eating healthy pyramid is a nutritional guide which was produced by Harvard School of Public Health.

The aim of the guide is to advice on what a person should eat and how much should be eaten from each food group daily.

I will explain about each group so that you can learn more about healthy eating pyramid.

  • The bottom of healthy eating pyramid shows that you need to exercise your body daily in order to lose weight or control your weight.

    Exercising your body is one of the most important activities that will help you lose weight quickly and stay healthy.

    Jogging, riding a bike or just walking will not take much of your time everyday, but any of them will surely help you. Your body will feel better and you will be exposed to a lot of fresh air. 
  • On the next level of healthy eating pyramid are three groups of food.

    The first group is comprised of fruits and vegetables. Fruits and Vegetables are full of vitamins,fiber and antioxidants. Make sure you buy fresh fruits and vegetables.

    In the second food group are whole grains. Whole grains include brown rice, oats, whole wheat pasta and similar foods.

    Healthy oils can be found in the third group. They are mostly vegetable oils such as soy, corn, sunflower, olive, peanut or canola oil.

    Don't fail to include the groceries in these groups in your daily meals, especially fruits and vegetables which you can also eat as snacks.

  • The middle of healthy eating pyramid contains from fish, poultry and eggs and nuts, seeds, tofu and beans. From fish, poultry and eggs you get fat, but in right portions. 

    If you are a vegetarian, then eat nuts, seeds, tofu and beans which also contain some fat. All these groceries give you protein just as meat does, but they are a little bit healthier and should be found in your nutrition.
  • Dairy products are on the fourth level of healthy eating pyramid.

    Those are products such as milk, cheese and yoghurt. You should include them in your meals once or twice a day.

    And when buying them, you should chose low-fat products. If you are a vegetarian, you may go for soy beverages.

    Adequate consumption of dairy products give you right doses of vitamin D and calcium.
  • At the top of the healthy eating pyramid are located unhealthy foods you should avoid or eat in very small quantities.

    First in the list are red meats, processed meats and butter. They are high in fat and calories.

    Next are refined grains such as white rice, potatoes, white bread and pastas.

    Many of us are addicted or have craving for sugar and sweets. Avoid them as much as you can. You should rather eat fresh fruits or nuts.
  • The last thing on the list at the top of the healthy eating pyramid is salt. It is the most unhealthy food condiment people use in most of their meals. If you can not throw it out from your diets, then use it very sparingly.

    Eating healthy pyramid can help you a lot if you are one of those who prefer to see things graphically.

You can use search engines such as google, yahoo and bing to search the internet for more information about the pyramid.

There, you will find  diets and recipes you can prepare using the guidelines given by eating healthy pyramid.

If you you want to eat healthy and enjoy a healthier life, always remember to stick to the advice given in the eating healthy pyramid.

Return from Eating Healthy Pyramid to Healthy

Eating Guidelines

Return from Eating Healthy Pyramid to

Healthy Eating Homepage

Custom Search
+1 Demo: Async load

New! Comments

" of comments have already been left on our site. Have your say about what you just read! Leave me a comment in the box below.